Beechbrae Wild Pond

Beechbrae

There's an area in the woodland that is always boggy and full of water and we want to turn it into a wildlife pond and raingarden bringing life and biodiversity to the woodland and creating a much needed community asset

Visitor Information

Beechbrae Wood
Heights Road
Blackridge
Bathgate
West Lothian
EH48 3SW

Anyone! The local community of Blackridge and wider connected communities, walkers and passers by.

Get involved

Volunteering opportunities / Upcoming events

Young people are designing and planning the rain garden and we will have community activity days in Blackridge to celebrate. We will need local help along the way, if you would like to get involved please contact us here

Get in touch

Photos of the site

Before in Blackridge

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Pond ideas

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Arial map

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Surveying the site for the pond

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Surveying the site for the pond

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Cold & Frosty Morning at site

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

The digger finally arrived!

Friday, November 25, 2016

Group seeing the work start

Friday, November 25, 2016

Learning about digging

Friday, November 25, 2016

Topsoil removed and shape started

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Group seeing progress in pond

Friday, December 2, 2016

Down to the clay bottom of pond

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Down to the clay bottom of pond

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

The pond filled up!

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Volunteers planting up the pond

Friday, January 20, 2017

Pond life starting to grow!

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Early spring sunshine at the pond

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Pond dipping!

Friday, July 14, 2017

Water Forget Me Not

Monday, August 21, 2017

Beechbrae Wild Pond from the sky

Thursday, September 7, 2017

We got a platform!!

Friday, September 29, 2017

What we've been up to

What we did Date How many people took part Who was there
We planted the pond with pond plants and learned about pond habitat species of plants and animals. 06/01/2017 - 11:00 12 Mixed ages