Community Project
Canton Community Gardens

Canton & Riverside Grows Wild

We are in

canton
Cardiff
Caerdydd
CF5 1PJ

See our transformation

Games

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Event

Saturday, May 7, 2016

Event

Friday, May 13, 2016

Event

Saturday, May 28, 2016

planting

Saturday, June 4, 2016

bED MAKING

Wednesday, June 8, 2016

seedlings

Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Hunt

Friday, June 17, 2016

Produce

Sunday, June 19, 2016

garden

Sunday, June 26, 2016

Wildlife

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Willow weaving workshop

Sunday, July 3, 2016

Willow weaving workshop

Sunday, July 3, 2016

Willow weaving workshop

Sunday, July 3, 2016

Willow weaving workshop

Sunday, July 3, 2016

Willow weaving workshop

Sunday, July 3, 2016

potatoes

Sunday, July 3, 2016

event flyer

Wednesday, July 6, 2016

bED MAKING

Wednesday, July 6, 2016

promoting garden with our board

Thursday, July 7, 2016

Bee

Sunday, July 10, 2016

harvest

Sunday, July 10, 2016

box making

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

garden

Saturday, July 16, 2016

Making rockery beds and planting

Sunday, July 17, 2016

Wildlife

Sunday, July 17, 2016

chard

Thursday, July 21, 2016

fun

Thursday, July 21, 2016

event

Saturday, July 23, 2016

garden

Sunday, July 24, 2016

harvest

Sunday, July 24, 2016

bee

Sunday, July 24, 2016

Bee

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Wildlife

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Cherries

Sunday, July 31, 2016

flowers

Sunday, July 31, 2016

garden

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

wildlfower meadow

Thursday, August 4, 2016

new beds in street

Saturday, August 6, 2016

garden

Sunday, August 7, 2016

Wildlife

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

clean up green up

Saturday, August 13, 2016

gardening

Sunday, August 14, 2016

flowers

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

garden

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

garden

Thursday, August 18, 2016

butterfly

Thursday, August 18, 2016

community

Saturday, August 20, 2016

community event

Saturday, August 20, 2016

community event

Saturday, August 27, 2016

community event

Saturday, September 10, 2016

community event

Saturday, September 17, 2016

bulb blitz poster

Saturday, October 1, 2016

bulb planting

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

bulb blitz

Saturday, October 15, 2016

bulb blitz

Saturday, October 15, 2016

bulb blitz

Saturday, October 15, 2016

bulb blitz

Saturday, October 15, 2016

bulb planting

Thursday, October 20, 2016

bulb blitz

Sunday, October 23, 2016

bulb blitz

Sunday, October 23, 2016

bulb blitz

Thursday, October 27, 2016

Bed

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Poster

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Poster

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Bee

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Bee hotels

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

community

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Our challenge

Turn neglected area of our community in beautiful gardens for wildlife, food and community enjoyment. To develop community cohesion and spirit. Engage community in respecting for & caring for spaces and the environment.

What we're doing

We meet every week at 10.30 on Sunday to garden and chat. We put on workshops and events. Have fun. Share skills. Learn about growing food, flowers etc and learn about local wildlife and how to help it.

How to get involved

Come and join us on a Sunday dig at 10.30! Or send an email to [email protected].
Follow us on Facebook and Twitter @CantonGrowsWild

Who can enjoy our site

Everyone

See this group's activities and events using UK native plants

Name of activity Activity category Date What happened Number of people Age range
No Dog poo sign built Event 07/05/2016 - 23:00 No dog [poo sign built by our carpenter and artist Justin. Thank you! 1 Mixed ages
Notice board built Event 04/06/2016 - 23:00 Two sandwich boards built by our professional carpenter Justin. Thank You! 1 35 – 44 years
Bulb Blitz Event 01/10/2016 - 00:00 to 01/11/2016 - 23:00 Series of events planting bulbs throughout Canton and Riverside with schools and community groups 10,000 bulbs planted 100 Mixed ages
Tree Planting - Riverside Event 20/08/2016 - 10:30 to 12:30 Tree planting 8 Mixed ages
Clean up green up Riverside Event 13/08/2016 - 10:30 to 16:00 Clean up Riverside with Keep Wales Tidy. Flower planting 14 Mixed ages
Riverside Scavenger Hunt Event 11/08/2016 - 10:30 to 16:00 Scavemger hunt and build and plant a raised bed 14 Mixed ages
Making rockery beds and planting - Lansdowne road Event 17/07/2016 - 10:45 to 13:45 Making rockery beds and planting on lansdiowne road. 12 Mixed ages
Making rocker beds at Atlas Road Event 10/07/2016 - 10:45 to 14:00 Making rockery beds and planting 15 Mixed ages
Harvesting Event 26/06/2016 - 10:45 to 13:45 picking our veg! 10 Mixed ages
Clean up and green up Riverside Event 13/08/2016 - 22:45 Litter picking planting new beds mural painting 16 Mixed ages
Raised bed making workshop Event 11/08/2016 - 22:45 to 11/11/2016 - 22:45 Learn how to make raised beds and then take back and put around community, home, school 20 Mixed ages
Wildlife explorers at Canton Community Hall Event 28/07/2016 - 22:45 wildlife exploring 12 Mixed ages
Wildlife explorers at Canton Community Hall Event 21/07/2016 - 22:45 Wildlife exploring 8 Mixed ages
Trip to National Botanic Gardens of Wales Event 11/06/2016 - 11:45 to 16:45 Learn about different gardens and combinations. They have recorded every native plant in Wales! Plan to make a native plant rockery! 2 26 – 34 years
Willow Weaving workshop - fence build Event 26/06/2016 - 10:30 to 13:45 Learning how to weave willow and building a fence for the gardens. 16 Mixed ages
Every Sunday - Gardening and activities at Atlas Road Event 06/03/2016 - 10:30 to 07/11/2016 - 13:30 Gardening and activities every week. Digging, sowing, planting, picking, watering, games, fun, picnics, building, chats. 50 Mixed ages
Plant Dig and Play Event 21/05/2016 - 10:30 to 13:30 Plant, dig and play at Canton Community Garde 12 Mixed ages
Picnic in the park with Cardiff Transition Planning 12/06/2016 - 12:30 to 18:30 Meeting with other environmental groups in Cardiff 15 Mixed ages
Every Thursday Dig Canton Gardening Club Event 30/05/2016 - 15:30 to 07/11/2016 - 17:30 Plant Care for garden: water, weeding etc Learn about pollinators learn gardening skills share ideas and skills at new site in Canton 75 Mixed ages
Wildlife Planting Day - St John's church Event 10/04/2016 - 10:30 to 14:30 Children's activities Learn about pollinator friendly plants Planting a wildflower meadow Kids scavenger hunt Play new site development 14 Mixed ages
Dig and Play at Canton Community Hall Event 05/04/2016 - 10:30 to 14:30 Blend a bike smoothies Street games circus skills planting bed preparation seed sowing all at new site at Canton Community Hall 30 Mixed ages
Digathon Event 20/03/2016 - 10:15 to 13:15 Digging up sites for new beds for planting wildflowers 15 Mixed ages
Planting Event 03/04/2016 - 10:15 to 13:15 Planting flower plugs. Sowing vegetable seeds 10 Mixed ages
Wildflower seed sowing Event 27/03/2016 - 10:15 to 13:15 Sowed wildflower seeds throughout the site on prepared beds 5 Mixed ages
Clear up of site and prepare beds for feeding with manure and sowing Event 13/03/2016 - 10:30 to 18/03/2016 - 14:30 We cleared the site of rubbish and dog mess. Cleared the beds of weeds and dead foliage.Added manure and prepared beds for sowing 7 Mixed ages