Community Project
Plymouth City Council

North Cross

We are in

North Cross
Plymouth
PL4 6DX

See our transformation

North Cross before transformation

Monday, March 9, 2015

Coming soon!

Friday, March 20, 2015

Sprayed to kill grass

Saturday, March 21, 2015

April fools!

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Stone-burying begins

Thursday, April 2, 2015

Stone-burying continues

Friday, April 3, 2015

Stone-burying completed

Saturday, April 4, 2015

Sowing wildflowers

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

More wildflower sowing...

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Seedlings emerging

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Stencil washing logos

Friday, July 3, 2015

Finished stencil

Saturday, July 4, 2015

Cornflowers!

Sunday, July 5, 2015

Flower riot!

Monday, July 6, 2015

Bright flowers for commuters

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Flowertastic!

Friday, July 10, 2015

What a buzz!

Monday, July 13, 2015

Positive feedback!

Monday, August 3, 2015

More positive feedback!

Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Unveiling interpretation board

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Seed collecting & until next yr!

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Our challenge

North Cross is a busy pedestrian and vehicular roundabout between the main railway station, the university and the city centre. We will change this space from bland cut glass to a sea of wild flowers.

What we're doing

We will:
- involve school children and university students in sowing the wildflower seeds
- document growth and flowering using photos and a short film
- celebrate flowering with events such as bughunts

How to get involved

Who can enjoy our site

1,000s of people pass this site every day whether they be commuters, shoppers or visitors to the city. Our project will put a smile on everyone's faces and welcome them to the city.

Video

About this video

Out now - video documentary of the wildflower creation process at North Cross!

See this group's activities and events using UK native plants

Name of activity Activity category Date What happened Number of people Age range
Seed collecting Event 28/08/2015 - 12:00 to 14:00 Young people from Plymouth Environmental Action harvesting seeds which were later dried and spread across several other wildflower meadows 30 20 – 25 years
Stencil-washing Stencil washing 03/07/2015 - 17:00 Kew logos and social media tags stencilled into pavement. 3 Mixed ages
Seeding Event 08/04/2015 - 10:00 to 12:00 Volunteers (members of public, Friends Forum and Plymouth Environmental Action) came along and helped spread wildflowers. 30 Mixed ages
Spraying Contractor 20/03/2015 - 10:00 to 12:00 Spraying of grass to prepare for wildflowers 2 Mixed ages
Stone-burying Contractor 01/04/2015 - 10:00 to 12:00 Stone-buried the site in preparation for seeding. 3 35 – 44 years